"Hi there and thanks a lot for visiting my blog. DFTBA!"

10/25/2012

Movie: The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Dear friends,

So today the Perks of Being a Wallflower finally premiered in the Netherlands, and of course I went to see in in the cinema. And oh my gosh, my feels! Seriously, if you were sitting next to me and didn't know me (and even if you did know me, but not that well) You would be looking at me like I was completely retarded or something. My emotions took me over! I was laughing, crying, feeling sad, feeling great, feeling all possible feelings, laughing some more, bawling, trying to keep my tears inside, singing along to the PERFECT movie music, and all of that at the same time. It felt INFINITE.
There are a couple of things that were extraordinarily good and made the movie this special to me:
Emma Watson as Sam
  1. The screenplay was written by the author of the book (ow yeah) and the movie was directed by him as well, and that was perfectly visible throughout the movie, in a positive way.
  2. The casting was done so well. Emma Watson did a splendid job playing Sam, because Same was just so much like I expect Emma Watson to be like in real life. Also, Logan Lerman was the perfect Charlie. Before seeing the movie I wasn't convinced of that, but the movie showed me that he was the best Charlie possible. He was just so much like Charlie, with the whole appearance, voice, way the acted and all of it. He made me like Charlie even more. And then there was Ezra Miller as Patrick. And oh my god, I would watch this movie only to see him play Patrick, because he is is freakin' hilarious! Seriously, every time I saw his face it put a smile upon my face. And he's smokin' as well! Simply a-ma-zing cast!
  3. The music. All of the songs I heard I liked a lot. They were all from the correct time, and all sounded so perfect and fit the movie very precise. Some of the songs were even my personal favorites, like "Asleep" by the Smiths and "Come on Eileen" by Dexy's Midnight Runners. I just couldn't stop myself and had to murmur along xD Luckily the cinema was almost empty, and the only person sitting nearby was a friend who liked the movie as much as I did.
  4. Ezra Miller As Patrick
  5. The Screenplay left out exactely the pieces of the book I didn't like. There were some things in the book that I believe would have been better if they were left out, and they were left out in the screenplay. These few tiny things didn't change the plot at all, luckily, as that would have been an enormous disaster.
So yeah, those were the 4 things that made me feel infinite while watching.

Love Always,
Mar

10/24/2012

Tomorrow: The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Hey guys!


After the endlessly seeming waiting, gif-searching, fangirling, reading and fangirling some more it's finally happening! Tomorrow the Perks of Being a Wallflower finally releases in the Netherlands. *thank Rowling*

Seriously, I feel like everyone has seen it already, and everyone's tumbling about it, and all those wonderful pictures and just ... ... all of it. I want to see it so badly it hurts! Even thinking about it makes me insta-happy because I know I will see it tomorrow :)

So what started off my crazy obsession with this movie? I only need two words to explain it. Emma Watson. I love that girl! She is so beautiful and an extraordinary actress. I just wanted to see more and more of her. While I was reading the book I imagined her playing Sam and the role is perfect for her! The second thing that lured me in was the book. I read it in one sitting, and it was just so cute and relateable for me. Sometimes, I feel just like Charlie, only the less innocent version. Thank you tumblr :P Okay, thirdly, the other people casted also made me so happy. Ezra Miller will be the best and hottest Patrick, and Logan Lerman will also do a great job playing Charlie, I believe.

...asdfghjkl... I am just so exited! Seriously, I am so happy that I'm going with a friend of mine who is as exited for the movie as I am, otherwise she would just awkwardly look at me all the time during the movie, when I make these crazy fangirl sounds like 'awwh' and comment on all the things they say.
I can't wait to feel infinite!

have you seen the Perks of Being a Wallflower? What did you think about it?

Love, 
Mar

9/23/2012

Taking a blogging break

Hey guys.

Some of you might have noticed that I haven't been posting ANYTHING at all lately. I have stopped posting september 2nd, and it's now september 23rd. There is a huge gap of days in between.

I am going through a kind of difficult phase at the moment -school, family and life in general-. I have just turned 15, and I started thinking about the things I had accomplished in the 15 years I have been walking on this planet, and I was not content. I feel like I'm going through a mid-teen-crisis. Is that sane? It was just a wake-up call to me, that I had to really do something with my life, and that I had to spend less time behind the screen of my laptop. Have I really done anything since that day? No, not really...

I just really miss blogging, and I can't stop thinking about it. So I found a solution; I will continue blogging, just fewer times a week. I think it will work out just fine.

Thanks to you for sticking around! I love you!

9/02/2012

Tour stop: You can't Shatter Me by Thalia Newland - Review


Today I bring you the wonderful novel by Thalia Newland; You can't Shatter Me! Make sure to hang on.

title: You can't Shatter Me
written by: Thalia Newland
genre: Young Adult, Contemporary
page count: 160
publication date: June 22nd, 2012
publisher: Catapult Press

Sixteen year old Carly wants to write her own life and cast herself as a superhero, but the story gets out of control when she stands up to a bully and he turns on her. His increasing harassment forces her to battle flying hooks, giant thistles, doubt dragons and a suffocating closet. Dylan, a karate-trained nerd who supports her stand, turns out to be a secret admirer, and while he struggles to control his inner caveman, Carly searches for her own way to stop the bully. An old hippie shows her an inner magic that’s supposed to make her invincible, but will Carly learn to use it before her knight in shining armour risks all in a battle with a fire-breathing dragon?


You can't shatter me was a truly revolutionary book for me, because it was all so true. I recognised myself in Carly. I could easily imagine myself in this story, or her being my twin sister. The book was not like any other book I have ever read. Yes, it was about bullying, but not about how miserable it made people feel, but about how to stop the bullies, and how to understand them. And that's the best thing about the book.

Carly is just a plain normal girl, until she starts to date Dylan, the cute nerdy boy, and gets bullied by Justin. Justin is the stereotype bully, only worse than most. Carly tries to stop the bully, not with hate, but with love and compassion. Because hate can't be cured with hate, only with love.

Carly was a very strong kick-butt character, very likeable and full of love for every single soul. I could easily relate to her, because I was bullied, too. It was a long time ago, but reading this book reminded me a lot of that time. I wasn't bullied very much, but it really had an enormous impact on my life. I was not as strong as Carly was, and started to hide the real me. Only just a year ago I started to take off those covers, and show the world the real me. I really admire Carly for feeling compassion for the bully, because I still am not capable of feeling that way,and it was years ago. I really feel like this book has helped me take a step to really put it behind me.

The plot of this book was interesting, and full of knowledge that will be useful for the rest of my life. The romance was very cute and so realistic. Most contemporary books have this 'normal girl starts dating school hottie' scenario, which really is not so interesting after reading a gazillion books with exactely the same pattern of events. I love to see something new, and this book definitely was new and unique. The writing style was easy to read, I just was floating through the book.

I feel like this book could really help people with their lives, and that they won't even percieve that they're actually learning something because of the cute story that covers it up. I think it would solve a lot of problems on high- and middleschools if everyone read this. A book definitely worth 5 stars!

Hugs,
Mar

purchase links


8/30/2012

Review: Need by Carrie Jones

title: Need
written by: Carrie Jones
series: Need #1
genres: Young Adult, Paranormal Romance
page count: 306
publication date: December 23rd, 2008
publisher: Bloomsbury

Pain shoots through my head. Fireworks. Explosions. All inside my brain. The white world goes dark and I know what's about to happen.

Zara White suspects there's a freaky guy semi-stalking her. She's also obsessed with phobias. And it's true, she hasn't exactly been herself since her stepfather died. But exiling her to shivery Maine to live with her grandmother? That seems a bit extreme. The move is supposed to help her stay sane...but Zara's pretty sure her mom just can't deal with her right now.

She couldn't be more wrong. Turns out the semi-stalker is not a figment of Zara's overactive imagination. In fact, he's still following her, leaving behind an eerie trail of gold dust. There's something not right - not human - in this sleepy Maine town, and all signs point to Zara.

This book had me at its first page. No, with its first word, even! Zara's obsession with phobias was genius and I loved it! However, somehow I lost my interest in reading it halfway. It all started off so amazing, but the whole idea just got boring after 200 pages or so.
Zara White has just lost her stepfather, and the author really focused on that. I have never lost a (step)parent so I can't imagine how it would feel like. I just thing it would be so empty, like a place that can't be filled. And that's how the author described it. Zara is not dealing with her emotional pain, and that's why her mother sent her to the mother of her late stepfather. Did this help her? Not really. Did it change her life? Hell yeah!

The mysterious stalker wasn't that mysterious. it was pretty obvious who and what he was. But that might just be me. I ususally don't have a hard time figuring out a books' plot. It made the book less interesting to me, and that was my main issue with this book. But I understand that as an author it's nearly impossible to find the balance between predictable and random. Too random will make everyone go 'Dafuq just happened' but predictable is equal to boring.

The characters weren't very kick-butt, but they weren't bad either. Zara White did impress me with her knowledge of phobias. Really, there are some crazy phobias out there, and Zara knows them all! The chapter names really made me enjoy the book more. They gave away a little bit about what was going to happen, but not to much. I love books with chapter names, it's so mucht better than just 'chapter 1'!

I would recommend this book to teenage girls who are looking for a quick and fun read. I give it 2.5 stars, but I might check out the next book in the series, I will give it a shot, because the story still has a lot of potential, as it was quite original and funny at multiple points.

Happy reading!
Mar

8/27/2012

Review: Feed by Mira Grant

title: Feed
written by: Mira Grant
series: Newsflesh #1
genres: Young Adult, post-apocalypse
page count: 571
publication date: May 1st, 2010
publisher: Orbit Books
rating: 5+ stars!

The year was 2014. We had cured cancer. We had beaten the common cold. But in doing so we created something new, something terrible that no one could stop. The infection spread, virus blocks taking over bodies and minds with one, unstoppable command: FEED. Now, twenty years after the Rising, bloggers Georgia and Shaun Mason are on the trail of the biggest story of their lives - the dark conspiracy behind the infected. The truth will get out, even if it kills them.

Combining 2 of my favorite things in life, Blogging and Zombies, Grant did an amazing job at writing this masterpiece. Feed was so much more than just an ordinairy zombie book, it was full of things that made me think really hard, and dealt with the ethical dilemma 'How far goes the freedom of Press?'

After the infection spread, and zombies became reality instead of legend, fear took over humanity. Soon people found out that they should trust blogs rather than the Government's news, which was censored and tried to comfort the people. People wanted the hard truth, not a mild version of it. And so, on the same day legend turned reality, bloggers took over the world. How awesome is that? And it is so true that bloggers usually are more honest than the 'official' news.

Georgia and Shaun Mason are both important bloggers, Georgia is a Newsie, someone who reports the news facts only, whilst Shaun is always provoking the zombies, and toying with his own life. They are chosen to follow the presidential campaign of senator Ryman. But when people start dying and strange accidents occur the mystery sets in. And I devoured every single page of it in one breath.

While some of the descriptions were long and could be considered boring by some, I actually really liked them. They added much to the story, and gave you enough time to think about what was happening AND what was going to happen. The plot had so many twists and turns it kept on surprising me, whilst I usually don't have a hard time figuring out a book. And that's one of the things that I liked most about this book.

Another thing that I absolutely liked were the characters. Grand did a great job creating and describing every character of hers, and making them look so realistic. She made me feel like her characters were my friends. All of them, even the ones that were very insignificant, made me feel that way.

One thing I'm not happy about is the ending. If you knew me better, you would know that the way Grant ended Feed is the way I would end it. And that is not entirely positive, neither is it negative. It just broke my heart in a million pieces. So many that I just was bawling and my eyes turned red and all of it. That a book can do that to me... wow!

I would reccommend this book to readers older than me, 17+,  and I would not call this Young Adult. I say this not because it was so scary, or it was extreme horror (because it wasn't!) but because I think older readers will understand it better. I will read this book again in a couple of years when I understand the world better and see if I'm right about it myself :)

Feed it an amazing zombie novel that deals with some ethical issues as well as emotions. It made me think, laugh,and cry (A lot!). You don't need a lot of imagination to see this novel become reality, and that is what made it all so horribly true. 5 Stars and Favorite for this post-apocalyptic book with an unique view on the future.

Love,
Mar

8/26/2012

Tour stop: Mad World: Epidemic by Samaire Provost (INT giveaway!)

Hey guys :) Today I'm hosting the Mad World: Epidemic tour. There is a review, character profile and an International Giveaway, so make sure to hang on!

Let's start it all of with an introduction to the actual book. And what's a better way to do that than by reviewing it?

Mad World: Epidemic by Samaire Provost
July 28th, 2012
Self-pub, 160 pages
Young Adult, Horror, Apocalyptic

The Black Plague is ancient history. It killed 100 million people nearly seven centuries ago, halfway around the world from the technologically advanced research center at Stanford University. Scientists there have recently begun examining samples of bone marrow from plague-infected corpses unearthed in Europe. All the necessary safeguards are in place. What could go wrong?
Alyssa and Jake are away with their class on a highly anticipated year-end trip to Broadway with their senior acting class when all hell breaks loose at home. Traveling back, and trying to find their families, they encounter deadly results. Riots are breaking out. People are being evacuated. And they have no idea what's happening to their families.
Horrific ordeals, heart-pounding tragedy, and chance encounters harden them for what lies ahead. Faced with tormenting decisions, they're forced to follow their instinct for survival at any cost - even when the cost is a heart-wrenching decision of life or death.
A harrowing adventure of frightening discoveries, horrifying confrontations and narrow escapes in Epidemic, the first installment of the Mad World series.
Find out what's got everyone so terrified.


Only 160 pages, but the story told in it seemed so much more! Mad World: Epidemic is an extremely fast-paced story about a zombie outbreak. The virus is released by some sceintists who were recreating the Black Plague virus. The story follows Alyssa and a few of her friends. They are looking for their families, which were lost somewhtime during the madness of the evacuation.

Aside from a few things that really annoyed me about this novel, I really liked it. Mad World: Epidemic takes a very original take on the beginning of the zombie outbreak; the outbreak has its roots in the Black Plague, history's most feared disease. I really like what the author did there!

Then there were the tiny thingies that made the novel less entertaining to me; that it was so short is one of them. I really feel like I would have liked this story better if it was longer. Furthermore, I think that if the author took a little more pages to describe everything it would have improved the quality of this novel. It was so fast-paced at some points that I had to read entire passages multiple times just to get the information through. Of course, there were also things I loved about this book. One of them were the characters. I fell in love with each and every one of them, but most of all with Risa. And that's why I'm super exited to tell you that I can share a character profile of Risa later on. YAY :)

I rate this book 3.5 stars. A novel for everyone that likes brain-eating beings. I would not recommend it to the weak-hearted people, as the story is pretty cruel at some parts. A great YA zombie novel with an unique view on the apocalypse THAT WILL BE HAPPENING AT SOME POINT IN THE FUTURE!

Now more fun stuff - Character profile time!

Risa – pronounced with a long “i” and a hard “s” to rhyme with “Liza”

Risa is a seven year old precocious neighbor of DeAndre’s. Her mother works on the weekends so DeAndre’s mother watches Risa every Saturday. DeAndre’s mother and Risa’s mother are best friends. Risa has a very sunny outlook on life, and she bounces back from adversity very quickly. This came in very handy with the California emergency.

She prefers to play more with cars and slingshots, and climb trees, than waste her time on Barbies and dress up. She’s definitely a tomboy. Risa is Jewish, but last winter she begged her mother for a Christmas tree. After begging, pleading, cajoling, and debating, her mother finally relented. Theirs was the only house in the neighborhood to sport a blue Menorah in the window with a brightly lit Christmas tree behind it. Risa has brown hair and green eyes and she is like a little whirlwind!

And the Amazing giveaway :D


About the Author

Samaire Provost lives in California with her husband and son.
Her love of paranormal stories, odd plots, and unique tales as well as the works of Neil Gaiman, Terry Pratchett, Susan Cooper, Madeleine L'Engle and Stephen King has deeply influenced her writing.
Mad World : EPIDEMIC her first novel. The second in the series is entitled "Mad World: SANCTUARY"



Love and Literature,
Mar

FOLLOW THE TOUR VIA [THIS] LINK