"Hi there and thanks a lot for visiting my blog. DFTBA!"


Shatter me by Tahereh Mafi

book: Shatter me
written by: Tahereh Mafi
series? Shatter me #1
genres: paranormal romance, young adult, dystopian
pages: 338
own / library / borrowed
publication date: November 1st, 2011
publisher: HarperCollins

first thoughts:
I have been waiting so long to read this book. Finally, I started reading it. And I didn't stop. I read the whole thing in one sit, while I had no time at all. Not the best decision I have ever made, but it was definitely worth it :D

the book:
Juliette hasn't touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette's touch is fatal. As long as she doesn't hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don't fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war-- and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she's exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

My review:
Wow. This book lived up to my expectations! This was not another whiny-girl love story. This was actually very good!
The story that was told in this book was about Juliette, who can kill someone by touching him/her. How cool and horrible is that? Never being able to touch anyone should be terrible. Not being able to shake hands, or help someone when they need it. But, you can't be touched by anyone either. So when a tiny, little accident happens, and a little bit of your bare skin and someone elses bare skin are involved, you might just end up killing someone...
Juliette, the main character, is unique. Not only because of her 'gift', but also because of the way she acts and reacts to things. Juliette might always do something unpredictable, just to keep the story interesting. She will not obey orders from someone she dislikes. Actuall, she just won't obey orders, because she has her own will, one of the few things that still is hers.
The world this book was set in reminded me a little bit of the Hunger Games. Mainly that was because of the Reestablishment, they were like the Capitol. Also, the world is destroyed. Then there was Juliette, who was in the same position as Katniss was in in Mockingjay. Fight for them, or fight agains them. I didn't mind the tiny things they had in common. Actually, I liked those things, and I loved the Hunger Games.
The writing style of the author was great, easy to get through and a normal pace. This made the book even more enjoyable!
And oh my god the romance in this book was so awesometastic. Usually I am not the girl who loves the romance books. Of course, I like romances, but it shouldn't be a book only about romance. Tahereh Mafi combined romance and action in this novel, and she totally nailed it. I didn't lose my concentration once while reading this book. I didn't even look on facebook or twitter, which is a total miracle!
Only one thing, don't start reading this book on the evening before you've got to take 3 exams! I hope I didn't fail any :S I just couldn't put this book down, and well, then my study schedual was messed up :$ But whatever, it was totally worth it!

A book I'd recommend to every girl that loved the Hunger Games, or any other dystiopian series that contains romance. Full of romance and action, Shatter me really is a read you should be checking out!

I honestly can't wait for Unravel me, the sequel to shatter me. Too bad it'll take so long until it releases...

rating: 5 stars

xo Mar


Chosen by P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast

book: Chosen
written by: P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast
series? House of night #3
genres: young adult, romance, fantasy
pages: 307
own / library / borrowed
publication date: March 1st, 2008
publisher: St. Martins press

note: This review will include spoilers for part 1 and 2 in the series. I did not review them. I did not hate, them, but did not love them, either. Just neutral, I guess :)

the book: 
Dark forces are at work at the House of Night and fledgling vampyre Zoey Redbird’s adventures at the school take a mysterious turn. Those who appear to be friends are turning out to be enemies. And oddly enough, sworn enemies are also turning into friends. So begins the gripping third installment of this “highly addictive series” (Romantic Times), in which Zoey’s mettle will be tested like never before. Her best friend, Stevie Rae, is undead and struggling to maintain a grip on her humanity. Zoey doesn’t have a clue how to help her, but she does know that anything she and Stevie Rae discover must be kept secret from everyone else at the House of Night, where trust has become a rare commodity. Speaking of rare: Zoey finds herself in the very unexpected and rare position of having three boyfriends. Mix a little bloodlust into the equation and the situation has the potential to spell social disaster. Just when it seems things couldn’t get any tougher, vampyres start turning up dead. Really dead. It looks like the People of Faith, and Zoey’s horrid step-father in particular, are tired of living side-by-side with vampyres. But, as Zoey and her friends so often find out, how things appear rarely reflects the truth…

Okay, to be honest, I am getting a little tired with all the vampire stuff. *wow, did I really just type that? :o* Luckily, House of Night is not the usual vampire stuff. *okay, actually it is*
I stopped reading this series after part 2, but I picked up book 3 because one of my friends who doesn't like to read at all recommended it to me. And when someone doesn't like to read but still likes a book, it must be very good, right?
So the storie of Zoey, the super-annoying whiny girl / slut continues. She has got everything you can want as a vampire fledgling. She's got friends, she's healty and she's very powerful. Those 3 things make her very popular. Still, I think a real girl like her won't get any friends. She's so ho-ish. I mean, she's got 3 boyfriends :o *no, that's not a typo, I actually meant 3* And the funny thing is, they're all different species. One is human, one is fledgling and one is vampyre. She's so lucky *ahem* I mean, 3 boyfriends, and neither of them cares, even tough most of them know about each other. And then Zoey is there, and she knows she has to break up with at least 2 of them, and she just is so weak that she cant. I mean, she is the most powerful fledgling there is, but she cant just break up with 2 of her boyfriends? I mean, she won't lose her real boyfriend or something.. If everyone on that school were like her, there wouldn't be enough boys on the world to be their boyfriends. And that would be horrible, wouldn't it? :)
Okay but enough about Zoey. The actual story told in this book wasn't that bad c: Zoey's life gets more miserable, and I don't care, since I don't like her anyway. But it's her own problem. Who the Hell gets 3 boyfriends?! *sorry, it just freaked me out. A LOT*
There were the 3 boyfriends, Erik, Heath and Loren. Zoey should have gotten rid of Heath long before, but they are bound with their souls or something. Erik is the hot fledgling boy, and the one she should be with. He is the one that "knows her as she is, understands where she has been, accepts what she has become, and still allows her to grow" (Shakespeare ^^) And then there is Loren. He's the super hot TEACHER *goddamn Zoey* crushing on your teacher is not okay. Kissing your teacher is worse.
Back to the main story, that is mainly about the 3 boyfriends and the dead Stevie Rae, IMO. Okay, so Stevie Rae is not-quite-dead after all. *intersting twist in the plot*
Well, life at the house of night continues, and so does this series full of Drama. A quick read with lots of interesting twists in the plot and a great ending!

rating: 3 stars!

have you read the house of night series?

Love, Mar


Manga Tuesdays; Darker than BLACK

manga: Darker than BLACK
written by: BONES, Tensai Okamura
genres: Action, Drama, Mystery, Sci-fi, Supernatural
volumes: 2
chapters: 9
anime: yes, and people say that it's way better than the manga. I don't know because I have never watched it :$
own / library / mangareader.com
this manga is completed :D

note: As you might not have noticed yet, this manga tuesday post is not created by Lua, but by Mar. We have a week with 12 exams on school, so both of us have been very busy. I decided I wanted to do a manga tuesday post, so here it is; the first manga Tuesday post written by Mar.

the manga:
A young girl's nightmare becomes the search for the truth, a search that leads her to the secret and extremely dangerous world of Contractors and the Hells Gate. Hei and Mao try to protect Kana from the Contractors who are trying to silence her forever, while Kana clings to the hope of finding her father and piecing her life together again. (source: Mangareader.com)

my review:
okay, first of all, this will be a short review. The manga also was short, so I might just not think of lots of things to say about it. This manga was very, very, very *threefold very ^^* confusing to me. I've heard lots of people saying that you should watch the anime first to make the manga clear. Maybe I should have listened... *frowns*
The manga was not very beautifully drawn, but I wouldn't say it was ugly. Definitely not. It wasn't the most beautiful I have ever seen, either. Just a little above average. My opinion on this doesn't really count, since I do not read a lot of manga. I have only read 4 of 5, actually. My history with manga started this year :)
The characters had some pretty strange names in this manga. November 11th. That's a pretty strange name, right? 
The story of this manga seeemed very intrigueing at the first look, but the story was shoujo-ified a lot. Not that it was 100% boring or someting. It was 70% confusing 25% awesome 5% annoying. I think that's the best way to describe it :)
Lots of character development in these 9 chapters, that's amazing. I was surprised by the lots of events that were put in these 9 chapters. It's possible to tell a whole book in it, I found out. And that was one of the very, very great things about it.
I will definitely give the Anime of this manga a chance. I hope it will clearify the manga. And maybe I'll read the manga again after watching it, just because I do stupid sh*t like that... 

rating: 2.5 stars, for the awesome story and characters

useful idea: watch the anime, the story is great! 

Have a happy Manga Tuesday <3

love, Mar

ps: hey, being the one that writes the manga tuesday post is actually pretty awesome. Slightly out of my comfort zone, but soon-to-be part of my reading genres collection :D

Some things about manga for non-manga readers :P :

Manga is a Japanese cartoon or comic. There are lots of them in all kind of different genres (really from porn to manga for little girls). Of most mangas there is a new chapter released every month, so that's why some are ongoing.
If you are too lazy to read, of most mangas there is an anime to watch ;)
If you consider reading manga pay attention! Manga is written from right to left!

some terms used in this post:
Shoujo= Manga for mostly teenage girls (it can be very childish, it can be really mature)


In my mailbox #9

In my mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi @The story siren in which I tell what books I bought/borrowed/recieved this week.

I recieved only 2 books this week:

1) Extremely loud & Incredibly Close (Bought it)
I have wanted to read this book forever. And when I walked into my bookshop and saw this book, I just couldn't walk away without buying it. So exited to read this book!

2) Looking for Alaska by John Green (Library)
This is the only John Green book I haven't read. I love John Green, and people say that this is (one of) his best book(s), so I had to read it! The bad thing about it is that the library only had the Dutch edition of this book, so I'm going to have to read it in Dutch ;c But whatever, I just wanted to read it so badly I didn't care. *for those of you who didn't know it already, I'm Dutch.*

so what did you recieve in your mailbox this week?
Link back to your post in the comments below.

have lots of fun reading your (new) books!

xo Mar


Putting boys on the Ledge by Stephanie Rowe

book: Putting boys on the ledge
written by: Stephanie Rowe
series?: Boys series, #1
genres: Romance, Chicklit, Young Adult
pages: 170
own / library / netgalley
publication date: November 31st, 2011
publisher: TKA Distribution

as always, I'd like to thank Netgalley and TKA Distribution for sending this e-galley to me. It looked very interesting, but I found it very, very disappointing... I hate to give negative reviews but I have to stay honest.

the book: 
Meet Blueberry Waller, whose name is the only interesting thing about her life. Until now.
Not only is Blue dealing with the worst name in the world, crazy parents and a clingy younger sister, she just got a part in the school play. And now she’s acting with Heath Cavendish, total crush-worthy senior. He would never give a second look to a girl like Blue. Except he has.
Her friends say Blue should play it cool, put Heath on the Ledge so she can keep the upper hand. Trouble is, she doesn’t know how to be clever around boys. Thankfully her pal Colin offers his help in teaching her how to get the guy. But he’s just being a good friend. Isn’t he?
Suddenly the wallflower is getting all the attention. But will being in the spotlight keep Blue from making the right decisions...for her?
A Girlfriend’s Guide to Boys: For these four friends, understanding the world of boys is only half the battle.

my review:
First of all, I have to stay honest, and I honestly didn't like this book. 
I had lots of problems with the main character, Blue. She thinks that her life is miserable, only because of a crazy family and name. Of course, those aren't big problems, most of teens deal with crazy families *at least, I do* and sometimes they have crazy names. What's in a name? :) The minor problems don't make her life miserable, or at least they shouldn't, or there is something seriously wrong with Blue. I actually like her name, Blue is a funny name ^^ But, back to my problems with her. She is one of those girls I usually avoid talking to.  A girl who does always want attention. Then there is a hot guy, who is one of the most popular boys AND is 4 years older, and what does she? She falls in love with him *sigh* This is what I call the Twilight-effect. *I didn't look it up, but is it allowed to be dating a guy aged 18 when you're 14? In the NL the 18+ one isn't allowed to 'touch' the under-18-year-old one. Don't know how that's in the rest of the world. I don't mean that they check it or something, just that you as the younger one can use it against the older one in e.g. a trial.*
Then there are her crazy-in-a-bad-way friends. All they can talk about are boys, boys and boys. I mean, they go to school, shouldn't they at least talk a little bit about that? Maybe one line in a whole book? Well, in this book they didn't talk about school AT ALL. School means a lot to me, as a 'normal' teen girl. Other things are important, too, and I don't like to talk about it all the time, but I talk about school with my friends. But whatever, maybe it's just something that has to do with me.
Then there comes the school musical. Of course, already when the words school musical are mentioned, you know that she is going to get a part. She gets to play the mother of her crush. -.-
Getting on to the next character, the only one I did like a little, Colin. He's working in the barn at Blue's house. He is honest, normal and funny. But then it gets bad, because he falls in love with Blue *noooo* and that's the end of the awesome Colin. There are some crazy scenes involving Colin in this book. He is following Blue everywhere, or at least that's how it seemed to me. Stalker-alert!
The crazy friends say that Blue should put the boys on the ledge. You know, the place you jump from when you commit suicide --' which declares the title.

There are three more books in this series, each written about on of the crazy friends. 

I read a couple of 4- and 5-star reviews on GoodReads. I do understand that people liked this book. I guess I just don't like this type of books, that are about nothing... *sigh*

1 star... 

xo Mar


The Hunger Games movie release day!

The Hunger Games movie release date!

Hi! It's a very important day today :) Or at least, it is for people who love the Hunger games that live in a country that has the film release today. I was very lucky, I have already seen it :D One of the not-so-many advantages of living in the Nerherlands

The Hunger Games - Movie blurb:
In a not-too-distant future, North America has collapsed, weakened by drought, fire, famine, and war to be replaced by Panem, a country divided into the Capitol and 12 districts. Each year two young representatives from each district are selected by lottery to participate in The Hunger Games. Part entertainment, part brutal intimidation of the subjugated districts, the televised games are broadcast throughout Panem. The 24 participants are forced to eliminate their competitors, literally, with all citizens required to watch. When 16-year-old Katniss' (Jennifer Lawrence) young sister, Prim (Willow Shields), is selected as the mining district's female representative, Katniss volunteers to take her place. She and her male counterpart Peeta (Josh Hutcherson), will be pitted against bigger, stronger representatives who have trained for this their whole lives. (source - imdb.com)

my thoughts: 
well, Directly after I read the book *this was in July 2011* I looked the title up on imdb, as I always do. And I was astonished by the fact that the screenplay had already been written, and the actors had already been cast. Ever since, I followed all news about the Hunger Games. This cost lots of time, but honestly I did not care! The blurb on imdb looked great, and it seemed as if the movie was goint to be just like the book. And that would of course be fantastic, since the book was one of my favourites on 2011. I was a little worried that the movie would be rated 16 in the beginning. But when I started thinking about that, I knew that wasn't going to happen, because the target audience on the Hunger games is teens. It'd be very strange if they couldn't go to the movie...

the cast: 
Katniss Everdeen- Jennifer Lawrence
Katniss and Peeta <3
Peeta Mellark - Josh Huncherson
Gale Hawthorne - Liam Hemsworth
Primrose Everdeen - Willow Shields
Cinna - Lenny Kravitz (YAY)
Effie Trinket - Elizabeth Banks
Haymitch Abernathy - Woody Harrelson
Rue - Amandla Stenberg

Main tributes and Gale
these are the characters I think are the most important in the Hunger Games... I was worried when I saw that Jennifer Lawrence was cast for the role of Katniss. I thought she'd never be like I thought Katniss would be. I was completely wrong, as it turns out. She was the perfect Katniss! And the boys cast for the roles of Peeta and Gale both are very hot and perfectly casted for the roles, so I had no problems with them at all. Willow Shields also was casted perfectly, as was Amandla Stenberg. Both of them just are so totally adorable little girls, even though they are almost my age... Then there was Lenny Kravitz, who was cast for the role of Cinna. I love Lenny Kravitz' music, so this made me very happy! Elizabeth Banks also worried me a little. But then I saw her as Effie, and immediately all my worries faded! And, last but definitely not least, Woody Harrelson was cast as Haymitch. This was the best choice the casting people could have made. Haymitch has always been my favourite character, and I was very happy when I saw that he would be played by an actor who looked so much like I'd expected him to look!

and then they finally arrived. The movie trailers!
And Oh. My. God. the movie looked so good! If you haven't seen them or just want to see them again; here they are!
and yeah, this made me want to watch The hunger games even more badly. If that was possible... So I continued on following the news and stuff, and started stalking all actors via twitter. *okay, not stalking, just listening to whatever they wanted to share :)*

Every time a new movie poster came, I changed my laptop and phone background. 

and then finally it was time for the movie!
It was Wednesday the 21st of March, and the Hunger Games got into premiere in the Netherlands. I had to go to school first, but after that I went to the cinema. Surprisingly, the cinema was almost empty. That was not because no-one goes to the cinema in the Netherlands. It's just that the Hunger Games arent well-known in the Netherlands at all. But it didn't matter to me. I was going!

When, after all commercials, the movie finally started, I was super happy. Finally, the moment I'd been waiting for since July! I was a little worried, didn't I expect too much? But I wasn't disappointed at all. 

I will not spoil it for you * I mean the movie * but most of the movie is just like the book. And I'm very happy about that. Haymitch still is my favourite character! 

I will talk a little about my favourite scene in the movie. It was the scene in which Rue died. Katniss sung a song, and I was very, very quietly talking to myself. Don'tcryDon'tcryDon'tcry. But not crying was nearly impossible. The scene was just so moving!

Effie Trinket and her strange but awesome Capitol look
The dresses and outfits that were on fire were not done as good as I expected. They were not realistic at all, and that is one of the very few things that disappionted me about this movie. Aside of the dress, the clothing was great! The capitol fashion looked great. Everyone had a different haircolour, and everyone had to look different. It just looked so funny to see 20 people standing next to each other, all of them with different hair colours and ridiculous clothes! 

There were no very bloody scenes in this movie. Of course, there were a lot of people killed, but you couldn't really see it, the biggest part of it was your own imagination. And this was, of course, done on purpose. If there'd been too many bloody scenes in the movie, it would've been rated R, which means that the target audience would not be able to watch the movie...

I am still mind-blown by this movie, and I will be for a long time. It's just like one of the last Harry Potter movies. You should go see it! Go buy yout movie tickets online now :)  

A 5-star movie!

Have you already seen the movie? Or do you want to see it ASAP? Or aren't you going to watch it?

 Happy Hunger Games release day!

May the odds be ever in your favor!

xo Mar


I'd tell you I love you, but then I'd have to kill you by Ally Carter

book: I'd tell you I love you, but then I'd have to kill you
written by: Ally Carter
series? Gallagher Girls #1
genres: young adult, romance, chicklit
pages: 284
own / library / netgalley
publication date: April 25th, 2006
publisher: Disney-Hyperion press

note: Thanks to Disney-Hiperion press and Netgalley for giving me the oppotunity to read this exiting book with an amazing but awfully long title. It had been on my TBR list for a very long time.

the book:
Cammie Morgan is a student at the Gallagher Academy for Exceptional Young Women, a fairly typical all-girls school-that is, if every school taught advanced martial arts in PE and the latest in chemical warfare in science, and students received extra credit for breaking CIA codes in computer class. The Gallagher Academy might claim to be a school for geniuses but it's really a school for spies. Even though Cammie is fluent in fourteen languages and capable of killing a man in seven different ways, she has no idea what to do when she meets an ordinary boy who thinks she's an ordinary girl. Sure, she can tap his phone, hack into his computer, or track him through town with the skill of a real "pavement artist"-but can she maneuver a relationship with someone who can never know the truth about her?

Cammie Morgan may be an elite spy-in-training, but in her sophomore year, she's on her most dangerous mission-falling in love.

my review: 
This book is epic! Cammie Morgan is the teenage girl version of James Bond, or whatever awesome spy there is out there. She is super smart, can do about everything she wants. But what does she do? Fall in love, of course. The one and only thing she doesn't know everything about. The one thing that will put her into a series of awkward positions.
The Gallagher academy seems like this boarding school for rich girls. But nothing is like it appears to be. People from town think that every girl from Gallagher academy is spoiled, and that they all are daddy's girls. In some way, they are right. The girls from Gallagher academy are not normal... 
Cammie is a great character, or at least she is for about 90%. She is a genius, she has friends and a great sense of humor. But her love at the first sight really annoys me... *sigh* She turns into such a stupid little girl when she falls in love. Nothing matters to her anymore. And that while her whole relationship consists of lies. How can you lie to the person you love? To me it just seems impossible. Not that I never lie, just that I can't lie to the people I love most. Maybe it's just me, but still... And yes, I know that she was educated to be able to lie, like a spy. But whatever.
The pace was perfect, as was the writing style. Ally Carter didn't lose my interest once while I was reading this book! The plot is very intersting. A boarding school for geniuses that are going-to-be spies. Girls that can speak 14 languages, including Swahili :o And of course, a forbidden love...
I think the title is perfect for this book, only, it is so long :o I'd tell you I love you, but then I'd have to kill you. Seriously, it might be the longes title I've ever seen. *now I'm exaggerating... just a little :)* and the cover looks amazing and goes with the book very well!
I can't say how much I regret not picking up this book earlier. I really needed a book like this 2 years ago, so that I'd have never read Twilight... *sorry if you like Twilight...*

This book is full of humorous dialogues, action and girliness. A very interesting and funny book I'd recommend to every teenage girl that loves to read!

4 stars

xo Mar


the statistical probability of love at first sight by Jennifer E. Smith

book: The statistical probability of love at first sight
written by: Jennifer E. Smith
series: -
genres: romance, young adult
pages: 256
own / library / borrowed
publication date: January 2nd, 2012
publisher: Poppy / Little Brown

note: Who wouldn't want to read a book with a title like this? And the cover is so cute! Only those things made me decide to pick this book up, which was a great decision!

the book: 
Who would have guessed that four minutes could change everything?

Today should be one of the worst days of seventeen-year-old Hadley Sullivan's life. She's stuck at JFK, late to her father's second wedding, which is taking place in London and involves a soon to be step-mother that Hadley's never even met. Then she meets the perfect boy in the airport's cramped waiting area. His name is Oliver, he's British, and he's in seat 18C. Hadley's in 18A.

my review: 
After seeing John Green talking about the book, I knew for sure that I must read this book. Anything he recommends to his readers, I'll read *or at least 99% of it*
When I started reading it, I fell in love with the writing style of the author. It was very easy to read, and felt like you were flowing through the book. The pace of the story wasn't very high, and there didn't happen lots of things. But you can't expect lots of things from a book that only is about one day?
The characters in this book were great. There was Hadley, the main character. She was very much like a John Green character, with strange fears *mayo* and realistic thoughts. Then there was Oliver, the cute English boy that keeps on mocking American culture. Everything you expect an English boy to be like you can find back in him. Then there are some other characters, which I have honestly already forgotten about. They didn't intrigue me...
The family drama this book is about is nothing unusual. Some of my friends have been in the exact same position. *not the England-America thing, just the divorced and has a new girlfriend thing* I think the feelings of Hadley are represented very realistic, like any teen with seperated/divorced parents would feel after the divorce.
The romance in this book was great, but predictable. They meet in a terminal, have seats next to each other *what a coincidence!* and then find out that they really like each other. I am not one of those girls that believes in love at first sight... That's why I found some of the parts of this book rather boring.

full of hilarious dialogues, family drama and romance - a recommender for every teen girl that loves love :)

4 stars


Manga Tuesdays; Beck

Manga: Beck 
(alternative name: Mongolian Chop Squad <--- lol xD) 
Written by: Sakuishi, Harold
Genres: Music, Comedy-drama, Slice of Life, Romance
Volumes: 34
Chapters: 103
Anime: Yes, but it isn't really good... but there is also a movie, I both haven't really watched them though (the anime only half a episode because it sucked so bad, so maybe it get's better after that... and the movie because I just found out :) )
own/ library/ borrowed/ read online
read online via the site: http://www.mangareader.net/291/beck.html
completed/ ongoing
publisher: Kodansha 
English publisher: Tokyopop

For the first 14 years of his life, Yukio Tanaka has been one heck of a boring guy. He has no hobbies, weak taste in music, and only a small vestige of a personality. He yearns for an exciting life, but his shy, and somewhat neurotic personality make him his own worst enemy. Little does he know that his life will be forever changed when he meets Ryusuke Minami, a wild and unpredictable 16-year old fresh from America, who happens to be in a rock-and-roll band named after his Frankenstein-like patched dog--Beck. 

from: http://www.mangareader.net/291/beck.html


Beck is a story about the band Beck (bet you can't get why the manga is called Beck -___- ) and their way to the top, which has a lot of difficulties, since a big music company is against them and also because of personal problems. (I know it's a bit short extra summary, but it's quite difficult to summarize like 103 quite long chapters without spoiling to much)

Anyway I really loved reading Beck, since it's really realistic for a music manga, it's really funny and I thought the story line was quite good. It's also really nice to see how all of the characters develop and grow, because you follow them from when they are teenagers until they are young adults. The art is really funny actually because some mangaka's really draw the Japanese features in the faces of the characters (mostly in seinen) and that sometimes really makes me laugh out loud... My music knowledge has really increased since reading this (I know more from Jimi Hendrix than just his name) and it think it's really nice that they use existing rock legends. Overall it was a really happy manga with ups and downs, I must admit I cried quite a few times and sometimes it made me jump up and down. Though it is long it really is worth it and I didn't think even one time that it was to long. It's was exactly long enough. 
(And now I'm gonna watch the movie ^_^) 

5 stars

Some things about manga for non-manga readers :P :

Manga is a Japanese cartoon or comic. There are lots of them in all kind of different genres (really from porn to manga for little girls). Of most mangas there is a new chapter released every month, so that's why some are ongoing.
If you are too lazy to read, of most mangas there is an anime to watch ;)
If you consider reading manga pay attention! Manga is written from right to left!

some terms:
Shoujo= Manga for mostly teenage girls (it can be very childish, it can be really mature)
Shounen= Manga for mostly teenage boys (example: Naruto )
Josei= Manga for older women (the manga site says: late teenage and adult audiences, this is usually because the characters in the manga are not in high school anymore, this doesn't mean it's not fun to read if you are younger)
Seinen= Manga for older men (also for late teenage and adult audiences, also usually fun to read if you're younger)
School life= is sometimes quite interesting because the japanese school life seems very different than what I am used to
Shoujoai= girls love
Shounenai= boys love
Yuri = let's just say: the more advanced version of girls love
Yaoi= the more advanced version of boys love


Where she went by Gayle Forman

book: Where she went
written by: Gayle Forman
genres: romance, young adult
pages: 264
own / library / borrowed
publication date: April 5th, 2011
series? If I stay #2
publisher: Dutton Juvenile

note: I reviewed #1 of the series. You can find it HERE. If you haven't read If I stay, this review will contain spoilers!

the book: 
It's been three years since the devastating accident . . . three years since Mia walked out of Adam's life forever.

Now living on opposite coasts, Mia is Juilliard's rising star and Adam is LA tabloid fodder, thanks to his new rock star status and celebrity girlfriend. When Adam gets stuck in New York by himself, chance brings the couple together again, for one last night. As they explore the city that has become Mia's home, Adam and Mia revisit the past and open their hearts to the future - and each other.

my review: 
This book was nothing like I expected it to be! First of all, the point of view was Adam's, and not Mia's. I liked that, actually. When I started reading this book I was a little worrie; would the author be able to write a sequel to If I stay that was as great as the first installment in the series, from a male POV. But Gayle Forman did it!
What could possibly change in 3 years? *Well, A lot, I know...* In this book I found out that we all have the oppotunities, we just have to take them and hold on to them, and we might just get what we want. Also, it told me about dreams and how they can turn into our worst nightmares.
When I found out that Adam and Mia broke up during the 3-year interval between If I stay and Where she went, my heart broke. They were such a good couple! Then I found out that both Mia and Adam became successful with their music careers, and I liked it. The author did not make the life of a rock star seem like a fairy tale, more like one of the worst nightmares from which you can't wake up. Rock stars and other celebrities really are people, we just forget that sometimes...
Adam and Mia both had developed a lot between book 1 and 2. The had hardened. And this was not only because of their new lifestyles. Of course, Mia had to live without her family after the accident, something that must be one of the hardest things you have to do. Continue your life without the people that are your life. Then she breaks up with her boyfriend, and there's no-one left who loves her. Or at least, that's what I first thought. Of course, there were still her grandparents and friends. Friends really are important! Then there is Adam. He became a celebrity, not only his way of speaking changed a lot, but there was something else. He became more honest then he was before. There were some lyrics of the songs of his band written above every chapter, and everytime you read his honest words, pure and from the heart, and you could almost see his tears.And all of those songs are for Mia. They are heartbreaking!
The pace of this book was average. Sometimes it was a little boring, but it was not too slow. Also, the writing style was great, just like it was in If I stay!

An exiting read that you won't be disappointed by after reading If I stay. A worthy sequel!

4.5 stars

xo Mar


In my mailbox #8

In my mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi @The Story Siren in which we tell you about the books we bought / won / borrowed / recieved.

I didn't get a lot of books this week. My TBR pile is getting too high (and by that I mean WAY to high...) Still, I got some awesome books!

the shapeshifter's secret by Heather Ostler

(Thanks to NetGalley and Cedar Fort Press)
Julia is finally discovering what–not who–she is.

Like any sixteen-year-old, Julia's used to dealing with problems. From her overprotective father to her absent mother to a teacher who definitely has it in for her. But everything changes when Julia's reactions become oddly vicious and angry---more animal than human.

house of night #3 and #4 (Chosen and Untamed)
thanks to my awesome library! (No blurb, to prevent spoiling part 4 for myself and others ;) )

The ask and the Answer (Chaos Walking #2) by Patrick Ness
thanks to my library! 
*Spoilers in the blurb for people that haven't read The knife of never letting go!*
We were in the square, in the square where I'd run, holding her, carrying her, telling her to stay alive, stay alive till we got safe, till we got to Haven so I could save her - But there weren't no safety, no safety at all, there was just him and his men...

Fleeing before a relentless army, Todd has carried a desperately wounded Viola right into the hands of their worst enemy, Mayor Prentiss. Immediately separated from Viola and imprisoned, Todd is forced to learn the ways of the Mayor's new order. But what secrets are hiding just outside of town? And where is Viola? Is she even still alive? And who are the mysterious Answer? And then, one day, the bombs begin to explode...

what did you recieve in your mailbox this week? Please post it below in the comments :)

xo Mar


Just in Case by Meg Rosoff

book: Just in case
written by: Meg Rosoff
genres: young adult, drama
pages: 256
own / library / borrowed from the lovely Lua 
publication date: March 25th, 2009
series? nope
publisher: Wendy Lamb books

Thank you Lua. This is strange. From the title to the cover and from the first word to the very end this book is filled with strangeness... *read this book in Dutch, sorry for mistakes in translation of names if there are any*

the book: 
Justin Case is convinced fate has in for him.
And he's right.

After finding his younger brother teetering on the edge of his balcony, fifteen-year-old David Case realizes the fragility of life and senses impending doom. Without looking back, he changes his name to Justin and assumes a new identity, new clothing and new friends, and dares to fall in love with the seductive Agnes Day. With his imaginary dog Boy in tow, Justin struggles to fit into his new role and above all, to survive in a world where tragedy is around every corner. He's got to be prepared, just in case.

my review: 
as I said before the actual review, this book is madness :o 
The book started with David *Justin*'s brother standing on the balcony, ready to jump. He wants to fly. This 2-year-old boy thinks like a teenager, but talks like a 2-year-old. You can read his thoughts and read a few things from his POV, what was completely messed up in this book, which annoyed me a lot, but more about that later. It's strange to read a lot of thoughts of a 2-year-old and then see the 1 word that actually came out of his mouth. Of course, this is impossible, but still it's an interesting way of thinking that 2 year olds can think but just can't say what they're thinking. From the moment that his little brother wants to fly, David changes his name to Justing and changes his appearance, all to run away from his fate. He thinks he's doomed. He meets an interesting girl, becomes a model, has his imaginary dog and more strange things occur.
The point of view in this book was completely messed up. In some chapters there were 3 different ones, and all the time you had to keep in mind who was talking and from whose point of view you were reading. I think an author should not use more than one point of view per chapter, to make sure that the reader is not confused.
The plot of this book had lots of interesting twists that kept on surprising me, but the main part was predictable. I didn't care about that a lot, since I was distracted by the strangeness of this book and the story that was told inside it. 
Justin has this imaginary dog, which he thinks is real.  That isn't the biggest problem. His friends keep on referring to the dog as if it were real, even a 6 year old girl plays along. I mean, I don't think that normal people would do that. Someone just has to wake Justin up from his dreamy life, and tell him the thruth, that there is no dog, that he should just go to school and live a normal life like everyone else, and that he isn't so special that fate has in for him. But no-one does. Not even his new friend tells him that he's crazy or something. She thinks it's just normal teenage fear, which it obviously isn't...

This entertaining quick-paced read is full of humor, but still, it's about one of the biggest mysteries in life. Fate. 

my rating:
3 stars

xo Mar